Young Wine Writer of the Year Award

Wine award logos revised

Sponsored by Pavilion Books, publishers of Oz Clarke and Michael Broadbent, the Young Wine Writer Award is open to anyone aged 30 or under who is based in the UK. Applicants should not yet have had a wine book published nor yet be an established wine columnist or regular contributor to a magazine. We are looking for wine writing potential and commitment to popular consumer wine-writing rather than extensive knowledge or experience.

Fiona Holman of Pavilion Books said:
“This  award aims to encourage new writing talent within the world of  wine and  to provide a real opportunity for some inspiring travel around vineyards and wineries across the globe. We are looking for wine writing potential rather than extensive knowledge or experience.”

The award has enjoyed two major prizes. The first prize is a cheque for £1,000, sponsored by Pavilion Books to enable the winner to travel to a wine region of his or her choice to gain firsthand experience and to develop a book or article based on that experience. The second prize is a 14-day trip all expenses-paid to the wine regions of Australia courtesy of Wine Australia. The trip includes a tour of the key winegrowing areas, opportunities to meet the  growers themselves and  one-on-one tastings with leading producers, plus the chance to write articles about the trip for the Wine Australia website. (Terms and conditions apply)


Previous winners

2001    Peter Richards

2002    Matt Day

2003    Stuart George

2004    Penny Boothman

2005    Not awarded

2006    Rebecca Gibb

2007    Ray O’Connor

2008    Andy Lloyd

2009    Nicola Gutman

2010    Ann McHale

2011    Barley Blyton

2012    Alexandra Harper

2013    Hugh Jones

2014    Not awarded

Comments are closed.